Loving Lulu

I admit I have several things that I cannot resist, cook books, beautiful yarn and gorgeous fabrics.

I have an absolute mountain of cookery books in my house as both myself and Mr K love cooking and we have even put a very comfy chair right next to that specific bookcase.  However, I think he would agree that I am the ‘practical’ cook and he is the ‘glory cook’.  Now, this is no slur on him, he makes fantastic food but I can only really trust him to cook at weekends, partly due to the fact that he has to go out and buy everything he needs for a recipe and seems unable to guerilla cook but also because we would probably have to remortgage if he had to do the shopping.  That’s not taking into account the ‘it’s only a little cream’ conversations we have as he presents something to me – which reminds me, I must tell you about the fantastic syn free steak sauce later on.

I have to admit this recipe is stolen from the brilliant Rick Stein, who stole it from someone else etc etc and we have eaten this for years – I have had to adapt it a little to even make it vaguely Slimming World friendly but it is still a great dish and with a bit of a twist.  It never ceases to amaze me how delicious the dish is. It’s actually named after another chef’s cookery book. Worryingly one of my children decided to call a now deceased hen by the same name which meant that every time I spoke about said Hen, I always thought of cooking her.  Unfortunately a fox got to her first but that’s another story.

Image

Lulu Chicken – serves 4 adults with a good salad – Around 3 syns per serving

  • 1 whole chicken
  • 2 inch piece ginger, grated
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 175ml glass dry white wine – 6 syns
  • 6 large tomatoes or a punnet of cherry tomatoes
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed and chopped
  • large handful torn basil
  • 500g dried pasta – whatever kind you like

Wash out and pat dry chicken and season inside and out, I also spray with fry light.  Put grated ginger into cavity– I don’t even bother peeling the ginger.

Start chicken off in a 230 degree celcius oven for 20 minutes, then take out and turn oven down to 180 degrees celcius.

Pour some of the lemon over the chicken and return it to the oven, I now set my timer and baste the chicken every 20 minutes with the rest of the lemon, then the wine  – it makes a huge difference.

When this is in the oven cut the tomatoes in pieces so they are about half the size of a cherry tomato, you can skin them if you wish but life is too short unless there’s a really good reason.  Then put these in a sieve or colander and toss through some salt to drain some of the water out.

When chicken is about to come out boil the pasta in water until cooked al dente.

Once chicken is resting  I spoon the leftover ginger out of the cavity and back into the roasting tin, but this is an added extra as we love ginger.  I use my fat separator jug and get rid of the fat and then pour the juices back into the roasting tin as this is where all the flavour is – remember this is synned at around 5 syns per 100ml meat juices so is worth measuring – I end up using around 100ml.  Throw in the crushed garlic and put back over the heat.  As soon as this starts to sizzle thrown in the tomatoes and move this around until most of the juices have evaporated and there is a slight caramelised smell.  Add basil, toss again and take off heat.

Cut chicken up – I like to cut this into chunks leaving bone in if you like that (and don’t forget to put any juices back into the roasting tin).  Now remember, this recipe is served WITH the delicious skin but I ALWAYS remove the skin from my piece and pass it across the table to one specific hungry little mouth who adores chicken skin.  If you eat the skin, remember to syn it.

Throw the drained pasta into the roasting tin and toss until coated, serve with the chicken.

Image

Leave a Reply

