My ‘Not so Roly’ Roulade

Image

I’m lucky that in changing my habits and being determined to lose weight I don’t have that much of a sweet tooth.  Now, don’t get me wrong, if anyone puts a really good chocolate dessert anywhere near me then they had better move away quickly before I eat their hand.  The difference now is that I decide what I eat knowing it has to be worked off somehow – do I sound really virtuous? I’m not meaning to, but it is simple to work out that if we wallow in the guilt of having something we class as ‘bad’ then it generally makes us more miserable and therefore more likely to crave those things.  So a little of what you fancy does you good.  And that still applies even after having the teeny tiny slice of Chocolate and Salted Caramel Tart last weekend.  Mr K says his life feels a little ‘bereft’ as he polished off the last piece a couple of nights ago, I’m not sure my suggestion of ‘you had better get on your bike and work some of it off’ went down too well though.

However, I can tell you that on the occasion that you want a ‘proper dessert’ but can’t afford any more syns – and one that’s not yogurt or a small kids chocolate bar (I still can’t get my head around why anyone would want a kids chocolate bar, either they taste rubbish or they are nowhere near enough) then this is the baby for you.  And amazingly, if you are following Slimming World this is half a syn – yes, HALF A SYN FOR THE WHOLE ROULADE.  See, I have your attention now SW members.  And it is so simple that my 10 year old could have made it in 20 minutes (hoping that might be the plan for Mother’s Day this Sunday). The only tip I will tell you is to make sure that you eat it on the same day – although it didn’t last any longer than that, I can’t imagine it lasting overnight without going rather soggy.

And something must be working – I lost 1 1/2 lbs this week.  I’M ON A ROLL (get it?)

Image

 

Slimming World Roulade – half a syn for THE WHOLE THING

  • 4 medium eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • a tub of quark (250g)
  • 3 tbsp of sweetener (level not heaped)

2 punnets of fruit – I used raspberries and blueberries

  • Separate the 4 eggs into two bowls, yolks and whites
  • Add ½ tub of quark, sweetener, vanilla essence & baking powder to the yolks
  • Whisk into a creamy consistency and put to one side
  • Take the egg whites and whisk until stiff
  • Add half of the egg whites to the egg yolk mixture and stir in gently
  • Then fold the other half of the eggs whites into the mixture
  • Take an oven tray, line line with grease proof paper and spray with fry light
  • Pour the mixture on the tray/paper and bake for 10 minutes until golden brown 180c
  • Whilst warm peel the paper from the cake (gently) and then lay cake out to cool
  • While cooling take the remainder of the quark and add sweetener to taste
  • Spread the quark onto the cake (now cool) and add fruit you are using
  • Then gently roll the cake up into a roll

Cut into 4-6 pieces – or eat the whole cake yourself for ½ a Syn

Leave a Reply

