Yeehaw Bo Duke Beans Part 1

BBQ beans

I was trying to think what to call this post and I just kept coming back to The Dukes of Hazard – how that ages me!  But I loved it when I was a child, Saturday night we were allowed to have dinner in front of the TV and would watch a variety of programmes, it ranged from Lassie, Knight Rider, The A Team and The Dukes of Hazard – now of course Daisy Dukes hotpants would be obscene but apparently they were fine to show to kids in the late 70s.  And remember Boss Hogg and Rosco P Coltrane and Flash the dog? This dish just made me think of Bo and Luke Duke – how cool were they!

The easy way to make this is just to buy a bbq sauce and add 100ml to the dish – this is fine but as I was trying to make it Slimming World friendly I made my own bbq sauce – I have to admit that I should have used mild chilli powder, but as is always the case in my house, I compromise when I don’t have certain ingredients necessary but have to say that when I tasted it on it’s own it nearly blew my head off – and I am a hardcore heat fan, but I am pleased to say that once everything else was added it mellowed significantly and I was very happy with the heat in the end.  So I am giving you a recipe in stages.  The first is for the bbq sauce which will make a batch of around 400ml and is SYN FREE, you can freeze this too.  And the second is the actual dish shown above of BBQ beans with sweet potato but I will post that tomorrow.

Image

For the BBQ Sauce – SYN FREE

  • 1 onion, peeled and chopped
  • 4 tsp mild chilli powder
  • 500ml passata
  • 2 tbsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp dry mustard powder
  • 3 tbsp sweetener
  • Frylight
  • Seasoning

Fry off onion in little frylight until soft, put into pan the remainder of the ingredients and simmer for 10 minutes until thick.  You can blend if you want (I did), or not.  Done!

Leave a Reply

