Yeehaw Bo Duke Beans Part 2

Image

Things went a little bit crazy over on Twitter yesterday as I mentioned the Banana and Nutella Cake I made for the kids that I forgot to mention that I lost 5 lbs – seriously 5 lbs this week and I got my 2 1/2 stone award – I am happy with the scales going down a pound at a time (and obviously occasionally up sometimes) but I’m fine with that, I’m taking the slow route, I have changed my eating habits PERMANENTLY and realise that I can have whatever I want, but I may well need to think later and so I make choices – but I live a normal, healthy life.

So, since I started with my fantastic Slimming World Group I have lost 2 St 9 lbs and from my heaviest I have now lost 3 stones 13 lbs.  I can feel some ‘before and after’ pics coming on – maybe on holiday in the next couple of weeks (don’t get excited, Cornwall not the Caribbean so you won’t get my ‘bikini’ shots).  I have set a target and am 11 lbs away – couldn’t even have thought of setting a target a year ago let alone being within fingers touching it range.

I did a StreetGym session last week for the first time, I’m the kind of gal that drags my sorry bum round a 5 km run once a week – don’t get me wrong, I’m fit, I cycle everywhere and ran a half marathon last year but I’m certainly built for comfort and not speed.  Anyway, this Crazy Man (sorry Paul) makes you run about 5 km, faster than I normally run, then stops every so often do do sit ups, press ups, planks, sprinting etc.  Boy, on Thursday I ached so much I groaned as I tried to get into the bottom cupboard – but it was great and I definitely will be doing it again.

Now, I promised the second part to yesterday’s BBQ Beans recipe so here it is – delicious, and enjoy.

Image

BBQ Beans and Baked Sweet Potato – serves 5 – syn free

  • 2 red onions, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 5 sweet potatoes
  • 3 cans beans (I used borlitti, cannellini and chick peas)
  • 100ml bbq sauce (see yesterday post for syn-free recipe)
  • sprigs rosemary
  • fat free natural yogurt
  • Cheddar cheese – if you have a HEX A left

Heat oven to 180 degrees celcius.  Heat roasting tray on hob and put onions, garlic, carrots into tray, add paprika, cumin seeds, chilli flakes in and cook for 10 or so minutes, until softened, stirring regularly.

Spray potatoes with frylight and sprinkle on salt and put them in the oven until cooked (this should be about the same time as the beans).

Blitz chopped tomatoes in processor and add into tray and swirl around can with some water and add that.  Throw in beans and bbq sauce and place in oven for about 1 hour.  Add more water at any stage if it starts catching around the edge – I added some just before serving to give it a bit more sauce.

Place potato on top of beans and sprinkle on chopped rosemary and top with fat free natural yogurt and grated cheese.

Yeehaw

2 thoughts on “Yeehaw Bo Duke Beans Part 2

  1. Kate says:

    Yum is this Jamie Oliver’s recipe? Its my current favourite at the moment too! We have it with no cheese or yoghurt and smoked bacon for an extra meaty kick 😀

    • Well spotted, it’s a messed around version of it so that it’s Slimming World friendly. Almost put bacon in it like you – am about to slow roast some pork belly for the children in the leftover bbq sauce – yum.

Leave a Reply

