More Curry Joy!

Image

I told you I like a good curry and I have to say that there are loads of Slimming World curries that are fantastic. However, I’m a bit of a curry fanatic and the fact that I have about 50 curry recipe books that I would abandon brings me out in a bit of a sweat. We have a fabulous curry house here in Cambridge that one of our group members booked for our Slimming World Christmas Meal – I know, you would think that if you were following SW the last thing you would do is go out for a curry but she had a long chat with them as she had a meal there virtually every week and they adapted dishes for her – they even used Frylight. Now I know that if I mentioned that at my nearest curry house they would probably throw a Naan bread and tikka skewer at me – literally. Anyway, the meal was amazing, prawns, chicken and lamb curries with sauces, fruit salads – it was fantastic. And if my mind serves me correctly I still lost a pound that week.

I’ve been to The Seafood Restaurant in Padstow lots of times over the year’s – it’s win win, fabulous rooms, the sea, great walks and great food – what more can you want and it’s our treat. The thought of a fish curry revolted me until I had my first one there, which was possibly a monkfish curry, but don’t quote me on that, every time I go I have to have a curry, they are always properly spicy and deliciously fresh – and the Singapore crab was a terribly messy, very lengthy affair but I loved every second of it – I am not a woman easily phased if presented with a whole crab, it’s cutlery down and tucked napkin down neck of whatever I’m wearing – not in a greedy way, it’s just the way it should be! The curry I am showing you is from Rick Stein’s ‘India’ and was delicious – it’s the red one at the top of the picture (the chicken one was also delicious but I will tell you about another day) – the perfect heat, the fish wasn’t overpowered by the sauce. Just YUM!  I had to adapt a couple of minor things because it was what I had in the kitchen.

Image

Madras Fish Curry with tomato and tamarind – serves 4 just with rice -less than 1/2 syn per portion

  • 1 tbsp yellow mustard seeds (I used black mustard seeds)
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely crushed
  • 30 fresh curry leaves
  • 2 tsp chilli powder
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tsp tamarind paste diluted in 100ml water
  • 2 green chillies, sliced into 6 pieces lengthways (I used 2 red chillies)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 700g fish fillets, cut into chunks – I used Gurnard

Heat some frylight in a pan and fry mustard seeds for around 30 seconds, stir in onion and garlic and fry gently for around 10 minutes until soft and lightly golden.  Add curry leaves, chilli powder, coriander and turmeric and fry for 2 minutes, then stir in the tomatoes, tamarind liquid, chillies and salt and simmer for 10 more minutes until rich and reduced.  Add fish and cook for further 5 minutes or until cooked through and serve with rice.

Image

2 thoughts on “More Curry Joy!

Leave a Reply

