A Swweeeeet Potato Lunch

Eggs with sweet potato crust ingredients

I had one of those unexpected mornings on Saturday (well in my house anyway). The kids were at swimming lessons and I went to get my hair cut and when I got back the house was still empty – this is NOT NORMAL. Normally I come in to everyone talking, singing (Frozen has a lot to answer for in this house), shouting, badgering me for food and general chaos but no, silence. So I did what any sane person would do and think about lunch – or rather, lack of anything that might resemble Slimming World friendly in the house. Looking in the fridge the thing that jumped out at me was eggs. Seriously, the hens had been working overtime and there were well over a dozen in there so that was what it was going to be in one form or another.

Those who go to my Slimming World class know I have a real bugbear about conversion of food that doesn’t say what it actually is. A while ago, everyone was talking about Slimming World Quiche, now I was well up for this, I mean pastry, on a diet, as my 10 year old daughter says ‘it’s the best part of a quiche’. Obviously she doesn’t mean mine I’m sure… I then find out that this is in no way, shape or form a quiche, it is an omelette poured into a tin and put in the oven. THIS IS NOT A QUICHE, see I told you I have a bugbear about these things, IT’S AN OMELETTE baked in the oven.

On that note out came the sweet potatoes and I set to work on using this to form a crust of types (something that can hold eggs in it really) – now I don’t want to call this a quiche (as it doesn’t have pastry and it’s my bugbear) so the name, hmmmm. I settled on Eggs with a Sweet Potato Crust – I’m still not happy with that title but have made a rod for my own back with that one.

Oh, and gradually I get more tech friendly, as well as here and Pinterest I am now here on Istagram so pop over, it’s likely I will post more there and on Twitter as it’s quick and easy so if you haven’t had enough of me blathering away then come and have a look (that is if I have got the links to work…) I still haven’t got to grips with linking my pages to recipes though – need to sit down and get that sorted (advice gratefully received…)

Eggs with Sweet Potato Crust – Serves 6 with a salad – SYN FREE

  • 5 medium sweet potatoes, grated
  • 8 eggs
  • chilli flakes
  • Mixture of veg for filling, I used onion, mushrooms, courgette, red peppers
  • Mixed herbs
  • Grated cheese – HEX A – measured
  • Seasoning

Fry off whatever you are using for your filling in frylight, I fry onions gently first to release their sweetness, the add everything else until just cooked making sure it’s not too moist.

Grate potatoes with large side of grater and line a loose based cake tin with baking parchment and spray on fry light

If potatoes are a little watery put them in a tea towel and squeeze out moisture. My potatoes were quite dry.

Mix grated potatoes with chilli flakes and seasoning, throw in 1 whole egg and mix together. Press this mixture into the cake tin, I do this carefully to make sure there are no holes in the base as the eggs would leak through. Then press up the sides of the tin to the top.  Pop this in the oven for about 20 minutes until lightly coloured and drying out (see below).

Eggs with sweet potato crust 2

Place filling on top of potatoes, I like quite a dense filling so used rather a lot of veg.

Whisk together remaining eggs with a dash of milk and mixed herbs and pour over the top of the veg, making sure it can get through all the layers of vegetables.

Sprinkle with cheese and place in a 180 degree celcius oven for around 20 minutes.

Remove from tin as soon as you are able to handle (you will be grateful for the baking parchment here) and serve warm with a lovely green salad.

I also had some left for the next day and can tell you it was equally delicious cold.

Eggs with Sweet Potato Crust

4 thoughts on “A Swweeeeet Potato Lunch

Leave a Reply

