A Flying Queen and a ‘Hug in a Mug’

So I was having to lay low (or rather sit low) as I had a cycle accident.  I would like to point out there was no alcohol involved contrary to popular belief, might be tricky to keep the glass straight when cycling.  No, the chain came of my bike as I was cycling up a hill and was standing up.  It was a rather unceremonious flying across the cycle path with bike on top of me and everything in my basket flying.  I won’t show you a picture of the damage but suffice to say it was not pleasant (and of course a brand new pair of trousers were ruined).  A couple of days off work not being able to do a lot has driven me mad – however, my eldest daughter is delighted as her cardigan is now almost finished (other than that second sleeve and blocking it).  If you fancy having a go at this one then the pattern is here. knittingThen I chanced upon a recipe for a quick tomato soup so thought I had nothing to lose.  Normally I don’t go for speedy cooking but I must say that this really had the ‘hug in a mug’ and more importantly it really did only take 5 minutes to make.  So here goes, if you are under the weather and don’t want any effort but need to pack in those free foods then this is the baby for you.

Tomato soup ingredients

Hug in a Mug Speedy Tomato Soup – SYN FREE

  • 1 small onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 small-ish carrots
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp dried mixed herbs

Peel and chop onion and garlic and roughly chop everything except the canned tomatoes and mixed herbs into a food processor until finely chopped.

Throw everything into a pan with the tomatoes and mixed herbs and some seasoning and put on the hob for 5 minutes until veg is cooked through.

Blend this again (I use a stick soup blender for this part) until smooth, you may want to add a little water to get the right texture, or a little milk if you have a HEX A left.

Top this with a little fat free fromage frais and some basil (yes, that is basil but it had only just started growing).

tomato soup complete

Leave a Reply

