Mr Squid and his Testicles

DSC_0771

The weekends begin on Saturday morning with Mr K asking what I want for dinner.
Me: ‘But I’m drinking my first cup of tea, I don’t even know what I want for breakfast yet. AVA (7) STOP SINGING FROZEN, IT’S TOO EARLY’.
Mr K: But I need to go to the market this morning if you wan’t fish’
Daisy (3): Mummy, Mummy, is it swimming day?’
Me: Yes, now get your swimming things together, (turning to Mr K)’I don’t mind, you decide’
Mr K: ‘But if I don’t do something Slimming World you will get cross with me’
Me: ‘But everything can be adapted but I don’t really fancy (select random food as appropriate)’
Mr K: ‘Well that’s helpful, I was going to do ‘insert random food’ huff.
Daisy (3): I can’t find my swimming things and I need a poo’
Ava (7): Do you have a pen, I’m going to write a book today?’
Whilst all of this is going on Gracie (10) is still asleep in bed…

And the next Saturday repeat, and so on. Sometimes I am astonished we even manage to get out of bed and dressed let alone to swimming lessons and even manage to get something for dinner despite my ‘random daily dislikes’ as Mr K calls them but hey, sometimes I just don’t fancy a certain something. It drives him insane!

I’m sure most of you can appreciate those conversations if you have kids, surely it’s not just in my house, is it?

This recipe was on my ‘to make’ list as soon as I saw it – tasty, already Slimming World friendly and somewhat unusual so it was made the very next Saturday, although I’m not sure that went down very well with Mr K either as he couldn’t have THAT Saturday morning conversation. But it was brilliant, the squid was lovely and tender because it was cooked for so long and the kids absolutely loved it – we had sauce left over that we used for pasta coating another day which was great.

To show my kids I do listen to them and am not always doing ten things at once I have named this exactly as Daisy named it – there is trouble when you say tentacles to my 3 year old. Hopefully that won’t bring up anything ‘unusual’ if you search for this, but I can’t promise….

Mr Squid and his Testicles – serves 2 hungry adults syns – 1/2 syn

  • pinch dried chilli flakes
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced
  • 1 onion, peeled and finely diced
  • 4 medium or 8 small squid tubes, plus tentacles reserved
  • 400ml passata
  • 400g can cannellini beans, drained
  • large teaspoon shrimp paste (or 8 small raw, peeled prawns)
  • 2 handfuls flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • 10 olives in brine, chopped

Spray fry light in a saucepan and add chilli, garlic and onion. Saute for 5 minutes until onion is softened. Add squid tentacles until they tighten and have a little colour.

Add passata, simmer and place lid on pan.

For filling:
Place cannellini beans in blender and blend until smooth, stir in prawns or fish paste, three quarters of parsley and olives. I made all of this in blender (and forgot to save some parsley for serving).

DSC_0774

Stuff filling into squid tubes pushing all the way down and fasten with cocktail stick.

Place squid into simmering tomato sauce, put on lid and gently simmer for 40 minutes.

DSC_0777

Serve with a green salad

DSC_0780

Leave a Reply

