It’s a Humous Day

DSC_0924 What an amazing time we had watching Le Tour de France leave Cambridge – a lovely sunny day, we visited all of the fun activities first thing in the morning and then cycled out to just past the start line, catching the ‘caravan’ which were lots of advertising cars throwing all sorts of odd things out of them (my children managed to accumulate a fold up frizbee and a blow up guitar amongst other things – how random).   Then we saw the pack coming towards us, the riders all got up on their haunches and flew past us in a haze of speed. It was great, and just lovely being able to cycle through the main roads of Cambridge without having to pay much attention to the children cycling safely as the roads were closed to vehicles – I don’t think they could quite believe it either, something they have never been able to do.  However, with all of the positives there is always a negative and that was I put on 4lbs – oops.  I had treated it like a Bank Holiday as we all had the day off, it was so hot I felt I just had to participate in a glass or two (or 3) of wine.  Then there was lunch out – see, now I’m writing it down I know exactly what happened don’t I – but that’s fine, it’s the scenic route again, no problem.

Mr K went off to the cricket a few days later so it was only me to feed once the kids had gone to bed.  It really was a hot evening so I couldn’t face much, but I also know that risking no food I may well head for a disaster of being hungry late at night, so I decided on making humous, not just any old humous but one with onions, which both bulks it up and gives it lots and lots of flavour – you really do have to like onions, probably quite lucky that I was on my own as I may have been rather unsociable if anyone else was around.

I still had my HEX B left so toasted a couple of pieces of brown toast, then I sliced them on a board so it actually makes 4 pieces and then toast the cut sides until crispy and it makes them like melba toasts – delicious.  Then I had some cucumber and carrots sticks and it was addictive, standing by the cool fridge and just eating – thank goodness I had decided on that, otherwise it really might have been a disaster!

And it must have worked – the 4lbs had gone by the following week – onwards and upwards, or rather, downwards!

N.B.  You can leave the tahini out of this and add water to make it right consistency but I’m afraid there is nothing to beat the tahini really (you can add up to 3 tbsp if you are happy with the syns!) DSC_0926 Balsamic Onion Humous – syns – 4 for the whole lot

  • 2 medium yellow or sweet onions, thinly sliced
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons sweetener, divided
  • 1/4 cup + 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar, divided
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 3 tablespoons reserved liquid from can of chickpeas
  • 1 tablespoons tahini paste (4 syns)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Really good squeeze fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • Water (optional for consistency)

Cook onions in a frying pan in frylight with sweetener added.  Season with a bit of salt. Spread onions out across the pan and let cook, stirring every few mins, until softened, about 20-30 minutes total. In last 10 mins add 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar, and stir to coat. Once they are caramelized to your liking, remove from pan.

Save a small amount of onions to top the hummus later, if desired. Add the rest to the large bowl of a food processor.

Reserve about 3 tablespoons of liquid from the chickpea can and drain and rinse the rest of the chickpeas.

Put 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar into a small saucepan, bring to a boil, and let simmer until reduced to a thick, syrupy liquid, about 1-2 tablespoons worth. Remove from heat and set aside.

Add to the food processor the chickpeas, liquid from the chickpea can, tahini, garlic, lemon juice, 1/2 teaspoon sweetener, salt, and pepper.

Process until smooth. Adjust to taste, adding water if you want to loosen consistency.

Serve hummus topped with reserved caramelized onions and drizzle with the balsamic reduction.

Leave a Reply

