Celeb Promotion and Scandi Cinnamon Buns

DSC_0500So things took a very exciting turn after my last post.  I tweeted Gizzi Erskine to tell her what a great recipe her Korean Lamb Shoulder was and she retweeted my blog which caused much excitement in my house.  My kids were updating my blog stats oh, about every 3 seconds, and they were watching the numbers tick up and up, oh, the power of celebrity eh, my normal ticking over of views was exceeded significantly and even my best ever 1 day stats were overtaken 3-fold.  Of course I wasn’t the slightest bit excited, honestly!  Well maybe a little, if snatching the phone from 11 year old counts.

Therefore, if you found me from the Gizzi tweet then thanks for following me and welcome, and if you are one of my older followers (in the nicest way possible obviously) then thanks for still being there.

I’m deviating slightly from my normal Slimming World recipe today.  Those of you who read my blog because of that don’t panic, it’s not a permanent thing but just to prove I do actually make food other than the stuff I can adapt to suit my diet.  And we all have to live in the real world don’t we, the odd cake and delicious, irresistible bread comes along and we shouldn’t feel bad for having it.  As Mr K says ‘everything in moderation’, although he always adds ‘including moderation itself’, but let’s not discuss that bit, that’s how I got to the weight I used to be.

I have been on a bit of a roll weightloss wise recently (well for me) and now am only 9 lbs away from target.  I had to go shopping for a dress last week and I have found out I am a size 12 – I want to keep the tag on it so everyone can see, or maybe wear it inside out (that wouldn’t look at all odd would it?), can’t believe I’m nearly there.

So here is one of those delicious breads, it’s similar to a Chelsea bun but very simplisticly it’s without the raisins and including cardamom and perfect with my Hot Chocolate for the Gods.  The children barely let me set them down on the table before they were tucking in with yums and oohs, I’m guessing they went down well.

DSC_0473

Scandinavian Cinnamon Buns – makes 16 – 12 syns each

  • 300ml milk
  • 1 tsp cardamom seeds
  • 50g butter
  • 425g plain or strong plain bread flour (I use the bread flour as it makes these a bit lighter and a little chewier)
  • 7g fast action yeast
  • 60g caster sugar
  • pinch salt
  • 1 egg

For filling:

  • 75g soft butter
  • 50g sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Finish:

  • 1 beaten egg
  • Sugar, for sprinkling

Put  milk in a pan, add the cardamom seeds and bring to just below the boil. Take off the heat, stir in the butter and leave to infuse until it is just warm.

DSC_0479 DSC_0477

 

 

 

Mix together all the dry ingredients in a bowl. When milk is warm rather than hot, make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the egg. Stir in, then strain in the milk and stir together to make a soft dough which comes away from the edge of the bowl.

Tip on to a lightly oiled work surface (you don’t want to add more flour to the mixture) and knead for around 10 minutes – DO NOT add more flour, I promise it will come together.  It’s really good if you have a dough scraper though as it really does stick but the more kneading the better and it is still a little soft when you leave it to rise. Oil the bowl, then return the dough to it. Cover and leave somewhere warm for 30-45 minutes ( I have a bit of a trick here.  As my kitchen is sometimes on the cool side I warm up teatowels in the microwave and wrap them around the bowl, see below, it’s under all of that).  I’m sure Paul Hollywood would have something to say but gorgeous old Blue Eyes isn’t in the kitchen with me so what he doesn’t see won’t hurt him.

DSC_0483DSC_0487

 

 

 

Roll the dough out on the lightly floured surface to a rectangle whatever size you want.  Remember, the smaller the rectangle, the less buns you can get from it. Smear the butter out across the dough (use your hands for this), then sprinkle with sugar and then cinnamon being as generous as you like, starting from one of the long edges, roll the dough up tightly like a swiss roll. Cut this into 16 slices.

DSC_0490 DSC_0491

 

 

 

Arrange these in tins, evenly spaced out, cover, and leave to prove for about 30 minutes, until the dough springs back when prodded gently.  Brush with eggwash and sprinkle with more sugar.

DSC_0492

Meanwhile, heat the oven to 200C/400F/gas mark six. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

